Uncategorized

Two New Stories!

I’ve been neglectful of my blog lately. Really, it’s because I’ve been avoiding the internet, as I’ve yet to figure out how to be a part of the current ongoing conversations without getting anxious and overwhelmed. And I think that’s okay. Not to withdraw completely, of course, but to take a moment and recognize what action you can take within your own limits, so that you can be as helpful as possible without hurting yourself. Because you can’t help anyone if you aren’t taking care of yourself. This article has helped a lot.

I’m slowly figuring it out. I’ve started donating monthly here and here. I’ve attended protests. I’ve shared messages and phone numbers. And I’m learning that sometimes I need to step back, away from the internet, and do something kind or something just for myself – work out, read a book, knit a hat, make a pair of earrings.

In any case, being away means I’ve forgotten to post not one but TWO short stories from the Muses.

  1. “Home” by the ever lovely Meredith. “Home” is a gorgeous short story with the quiet feeling of an epic. I love her characters, especially Brighid, who would be best friends with the main character of my short story, Imogen. Check out “Home” here. 
  2. “The Beginning to the End of the World” by the incredible Nicole. “The Beginning to the End of the World” is a unique story that will have you hooked from beginning to end. I love the structure Nicole uses in this story! Check it out here.

I hope you enjoy the stories as much as I do! It’s so much fun being a part of this group. Without Joyce, Nicole, and Meredith, I don’t know if I’d have had the guts to start writing again. Certainly, I wouldn’t be able to write now, with the chaos of the world. But this group has given me the opportunity to remember the freedom in writing and also the importance of it. Stories help us empathize with others. They help grow our hearts and our kindness and show us ways to connect to people around us.

And I couldn’t ask for a passion better than that.

Happy Monday all. I hope the week is kind to you.

 

One thought on “Two New Stories!

Leave a Reply

